Skip to main content

JOANNE

Lecturer

Justice Policing and Property Services, TAFE SA

Tell us about your career pathway.

After studying law, I worked as a lawyer mainly in community legal centres and as the People's Lawyer in Kiribati (a small island in the Pacific). I tr ansferred to the Attorney-General's Department to take up a role working in policy.

I moved to TAFE SA, initially for an international project training paralegals in Samoa and coordinating a p arliamentary official visit from Vietnam. I have been at TAFE SA for 13 years. While working at TAFE SA I obtained a Bachelor of Adult Education in service education and training of adults, and becam e a Senior Lecturer with responsibility for a number of programs in the Justice and Policing Studies area.

What does an average day look like?

My day is very varied. I teach several c ourses, coordinate programs and meet with clients from a number of primarily government agencies on special projects including SAPOL, the Department for Correctional Services and Aboriginal Affairs. This year I delivered part of the Certificate IV in Training and Assessment in China for five weeks to business, law and English language lecturers at Guangdong Engineering Polytechnic.

Wha t do you love about your job?

I love the variety. This year I have worked in China, the APY Lands, Point Pearce Aboriginal Community and Port Augusta with students from a range of backgrounds .

Why do you do what you do?

I enjoy working with people from diverse backgrounds. I love the challenge of communicating complex legal and governance concepts in a meaningful wa y to promote the application of this knowledge in the workplace.

What do you see are some of the benefits of working in the public sector?

I have worked in the public and non-gove rnment sector for most of my career. I love the flexibility and variety of the work. I am also committed to providing a service to the public.

I love teaching and working across different agencies, departments and the community.

Why have you chosen to work in South Australia?

I was born in South Australia and most of family are here.

SUGGESTED READING